Truth Serum

You’ve come into possession of one vial of truth serum. Who would you give it to (with the person’s consent, of course) — and what questions would you ask?

Why yes, certainly I should be the one to get the possession of such a serum, for since my teenage years, I have hated being lied to. I simply can not stand dishonesty. Myself, I’m a very candid and straightforward person. And a little gullible too. Perhaps that is the reason why I hate liers so much, because I mostly fall for the lies I’m being told.

But to get a small ampule of truth serum, I know not whom to give it to, and whom to spare. Here in Doha, I am yet to know people closely enough to judge whether they need a spray of truth serum. However, because I’m still keeping a tab of what’s happening in India, and in my Kolkata, this truth serum can be sent to a lot of political honchos their, the ministers who keep getting caught in some or the other scams and then smoothly glide their way out back again. Or should I send it to their lawyers instead ! Oh and of course, as a student of journalism, I will have a lot to ask them.

But then you telling me to get their consent first. Err ! This clause in this writing prompt makes me realise, no matter how I dislike people lying around and being so corrupt and dishonest, I actually will never get any body’s consent in making them drink the truth serum. This just dawns upon me that I don’t have control over any one in the world. Any one except my husband, that is !

Oh like any other sensible girl, I too am totally aware of the control I have over my loving husband inside my home. But boy, he knows to keep his emotions bottled up, and how ! You actually think this silly potion of yours will be able to make him talk, which all these years of me breaking my head for, couldn’t ! Today evening when he will be back from office, supposing that I have the vial of serum, that we are so boasting about here, in my hand, this is how the conversation might go:

Me: Baby, please drink this truth serum, and lets talk, shall we !

Hubby: K

Me: Did you drink it ?

Hubby: Hmm

Me: Do you love me ?

Hubby: Hmm

Me: How much ?

Hubby: Ok

Me: What do you dislike in me most ?

 

Hubby (making a faint snore like noise now) : Hmm, Ok

Was it a truth serum or a sleeping potion, say ! By the way, I guess I can better use an imagination and creativity serum the next time around please 😛

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/truth-serum/

3 thoughts on “Truth Serum

Comments are closed.